Cone Health Honors Top Nurses and Nursing Support Staff - Cone Health

Skip to Content

Published on May 09, 2013

Cone Health Honors Top Nurses and Nursing Support Staff

Cone Health honors 35 individuals with its annual Nursing Excellence awards. They represent the top 1 percent of nurses and nursing support staff at Cone Health.

The recipients were selected by their peers and are recognized for the exceptional care they provide patients, as well as for their leadership abilities. All of the individuals provide care to patients or support those who do.

“We are honored to work among so many great nurses and nursing support staff,” says Cone Health Chief Nursing Officer Theresa Brodrick, RN, PhD. “Their nomination and selection for this award validates their emphasis on the Cone Health values of Caring for Our Patients, Caring for Each Other and Caring for Our Communities every day.”


The Nursing Excellence recipients, their hometowns and where they work are:

Archdale – Dawn Whitmire, Cone Health.

Browns Summit – Rachel Fountain, Moses Cone Hospital; Nancy Marzolf, Moses Cone Hospital.

Burlington – Katherine Clark, Moses Cone Hospital; Helen Lee, Cone Health Cancer Center.

Greensboro – Cathryn Ayers, Wesley Long Hospital; Linda Bryson, Wesley Long Hospital; Nicole Dixon, Women’s Hospital; Marissa Long, Wesley Long Hospital; Shannon Love, Moses Cone Hospital; Sandra Blaha, Congregational Nursing Program; Karen Olson, Cone Health; Eric Kaplan, Cone Health Behavioral Health Hospital; Jerome Wheeler Jr., Cone Health.

Jamestown – Jennifer Watkins, Moses Cone Hospital.

Kernersville – Lindsay Draper, Wesley Long Hospital; Donna Wear, Women’s Hospital.

McLeansville – Teresa Crite, Moses Cone Hospital; Frances Pleasant, Moses Cone Hospital.

Oak Ridge – Sandra Kueider, Annie Penn Hospital.

Pleasant Garden – Crystal Liles, Cone Health; Danyel Johnson, Cone Health.

Randleman – Allyson Daniels Kirkman, Moses Cone Hospital.

Staley – Lyndsey Currin, Wesley Long Hospital.

Summerfield – Robin Bass, Cone Health Cancer Center; Connie Lewter, Cone Health.


The Nursing Support Excellence recipients, their hometowns and where they work are:

Browns Summit – Holly Murphy, Cone Health.

Burlington – David Cox, Wesley Long Hospital; Nora Gilchrist, Moses Cone Hospital.

Greensboro – Sheryl Hairston, Moses Cone Hospital; Christal Peeler, Moses Cone Hospital; Andria Thomas, Moses Cone Hospital.

High Point – Nicole Casterlow, Moses Cone Hospital.

McLeansville – Sylvia Martin, Moses Cone Hospital.

Walnut Cove – John Hanes, MedCenter High Point.

Media Inquiries

For media inquiries related to Cone Health, contact:

Doug Allred
External Communications Manager
(336) 832-8659

On Twitter: @ConeHealthPR