New Residents Join Cone Health Teaching Programs - Cone Health

Skip to Content

Published on July 23, 2014

New Residents Join Cone Health Teaching Programs


A new group of residents has joined Cone Health. The residency programs give doctors experience in a wide variety of medical settings. Residency programs are offered through the Cone Health Family Medicine and Internal Medicine Teaching Programs. Besides valuable experience, completing a residency program is often required for a physician to become board certified.

Most residencies are for three years. The physicians listed below under “Preliminaries” undergo a one-year residency before moving into a specialty residency for the remainder of their training.

The new residents and the medical schools they attended are:

Family Medicine

Dr. Amy Adamo, University of North Carolina School of Medicine.

Dr. Ryan Grunz, Mercer University School of Medicine, Macon, Georgia.

Dr. James Joyner, Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine, Roanoke, Virginia.

Dr. Alexander Karamalegos, Virginia College of Osteopathic Medicine, Blacksburg, Virginia.

Dr. Melanie Marsh, Rush Medical College, Chicago, Illinois.

Dr. Ralph Nettey, Morehouse School of Medicine, Atlanta, Georgia.

Dr. Jeremy Schmitz, University of Medicine and Health Sciences, Saint Kitts.

Dr. Andrew Wight, SUNY Upstate Medical University College of Medicine, Syracuse, New York.

Internal Medicine

Dr. Ejiroghene Emokpae, University of Benin School of Medicine, Nigeria.

Dr. Jacquelyn Gill, University of Alabama School of Medicine, Birmingham, Alabama.

Dr. Erik Hoffman, Nova Southeastern University College of Osteopathic Medicine, Fort-Lauderdale-Davie, Florida.

Dr. Eden “Woody” Jones, St. George's University, Grenada, West Indies.

Dr. Marjan Rabbani, Chicago Medical School, North Chicago, Illinois.

Dr. Alex Wilson, Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.


Dr. Rachel Chikowski, Virginia Commonwealth University School of Medicine, Richmond, Virginia.

Dr. Christopher Komanski, Wake Forest University School of Medicine.

Dr. Morgan Rogers, Duke University School of Medicine.

Dr. Sarah Wallace Cater, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, Maryland.

Media Inquiries

For media inquiries related to Cone Health, contact:

Doug Allred
External Communications Manager
(336) 832-8659

On Twitter: @ConeHealthPR