Skip to Content

Committed to Safety: As we resume services, we are taking all necessary precautions to keep you safe while we care for you. Please note that visitor restrictions remain in place. Get more information on COVID-19.

Published on June 22, 2020

Cone Health Announces Nursing Excellence   

Nursing excellence awards honor nurses and support staff.   


Cone Health announces its 2020 Nursing Excellence recipients. The nurses and nursing support staff are nominated by their colleagues. They represent the top nursing team members across Cone Health.        

“Great health care wouldn’t be great health care without great nurses and great nursing support staff,” says Kenneth Rempher, PhD, RN, executive vice president, acute care services & chief nurse executive. “You cannot find another group of professionals as caring and dedicated as these.”    

Nurses and nursing support staff are drawn from each part of Cone Health. Those shown working at Cone Health have network-wide responsibilities. The diversity and inclusion recipients are noted for their efforts promoting the advancement of a culturally diverse workplace and demonstrating high levels of community involvement.     

Nursing Excellence Recipients  

Jeannine Fishel, RN, Cone Health  

Lacey Hitt, RN, Cone Health  

Katrina Jackson, RN, Cone Health  

Tiffany Pearson, RN, Cone Health  

Denise Rhew, RN, Cone Health  

Elizabeth Gannon, RN, Alamance Regional Medical Center  

Candace McFail, RN, Alamance Regional Medical Center  

Alisa Scott, RN, Alamance Regional Medical Center  

Marcel Mitchell Turner, RN, Alamance Regional Medical Center  

Sharon Venable, RN, Alamance Regional Medical Center  

Kelly Black, RN, Women's & Children's Center at Moses Cone Hospital 

Rakita Butler-Faison, RN, Moses Cone Hospital  

Amy Clegg, MSN, Nurse Practitioner, Moses Cone Hospital  

Karen Cobb, RN, Moses Cone Hospital  

Janice Coble, RN, Moses Cone Hospital  

Mary Early, RN, Women's & Children's Center at Moses Cone Hospital 

Caylisa Handy, RN, Moses Cone Hospital  

Lindsay Crozier, RN, Moses Cone Hospital  

Yancey Manhard, RN, Women's & Children's Center at Moses Cone Hospital 

Rebecca Sarine, RN, Moses Cone Hospital  

Mary Grace Sison, RN, Moses Cone Hospital  

Kristi Webster, RN, Moses Cone Hospital  

Jessica Asaro, RN, Wesley Long Hospital  

Shajuana Horsey, RN, Wesley Long Hospital  

Jennifer Oxendine, RN, Wesley Long Hospital  

Sophia Pickett, RN, Wesley Long Hospital  

Thomas Nichols, RN, Cone Health Cancer Center at Wesley Long Hospital  

Lindsey Causey, MSN, Nurse Practitioner, Cone Health Cancer Center at Wesley Long Hospital  

Victoria Britt, RN, LeBauer Primary Care at MedCenter High Point 

Cory Nafziger, Advanced Practice Provider, LeBauer Primary Care at Brassfield  

Jill Wine, RN, LeBauer Primary Care-Elam  

Monica Lane, RN, Triad HealthCare Network  

Dionne Leath, RN, Triad HealthCare Network  

Juana Wallace, RN, Triad HealthCare Network  


Nursing Support Recipients  

Ashlee Dias, Nursing Secretary, Moses Cone Hospital, 6N Surgical  

Tamekia Lockhart, Mobility Tech/Nurse Tech, Moses Cone Hospital  

Jamie Zochol, Nurse Tech, Moses Cone Hospital  

Traundra Carter, Nurse Tech, Wesley Long Hospital  

Cameron Varner, Nurse Tech, Wesley Long Hospital  

Fernando Valencia-Rojas, Emergency Medical Technician, Cone Health MedCenter High Point  

Ashtyn Green, Certified Medical Assistant, LeBauer Healthcare at Brassfield  

Anastasiya Hopkins, Certified Medical Assistant, LeBauer Primary Care at Stoney Creek  

Joellen Thompson, Certified Medical Assistant, LeBauer Healthcare at Horse Penn Creek  


Diversity and Inclusion  


Christine Hinshaw, RN, Moses Cone Hospital  

Rachel Vereen, Certified Medical Assistant, LeBauer Healthcare at Brassfield  


The Nursing Excellence recipients received a trophy and certificate. 

Media Inquiries

For media inquiries related to Cone Health, contact:

Doug Allred, External Communications Manager